Skip to main content

ASU Electronic Theses and Dissertations

This collection includes most of the ASU Theses and Dissertations from 2011 to present. ASU Theses and Dissertations are available in downloadable PDF format; however, a small percentage of items are under embargo. Information about the dissertations/theses includes degree information, committee members, an abstract, supporting data or media.

In addition to the electronic theses found in the ASU Digital Repository, ASU Theses and Dissertations can be found in the ASU Library Catalog.

Dissertations and Theses granted by Arizona State University are archived and made available through a joint effort of the ASU Graduate College and the ASU Libraries. For more information or questions about this collection contact or visit the Digital Repository ETD Library Guide or contact the ASU Graduate College at

Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov’s Concerto for Trombone and Military Band and Georg Philipp Telemann’s Sonata in F minor TWV 41:f1 are two works from contrasting periods written by well-known composers. International Music Company first published the Sonata in 1968 for trombone, edited by Allen Ostrander. Rimsky-Korsakov’s Concerto for Trombone was first published in the United States by Leeds Music Corporation in 1952, edited by Davis Shuman. Both of these compositions contain editorial concerns that detract from each composer’s original music. In most modern editions, Rimsky-Korsakov’s Concerto is accompanied by a piano reduction made by Nikolay Sergeyevich Fedoseyev. Although this reduction is …

Hutchens, Tim Alan, Yeo, Douglas, Swoboda, Deanna, et al.
Created Date

This handbook is aimed to develop a violist’s technique as they move from Georg Philipp Telemann’s Concerto for Viola, Strings, and Basso Continuo in G Major, TWV 51: G9 and begin the Carl Stamitz's Viola Concerto in D Major, Op. 1. Ten etudes and related exercises introduce and highlight various techniques, providing a comprehensive and methodical transition from one concerto to the next. These etudes are based on fragments of the Stamitz Concerto in an effort to directly relate technical development with performance skills. Dissertation/Thesis

CHIEN, SHAO-CHUAN SYLVIA, Buck, Nancy, Rockmaker, Jody, et al.
Created Date

Abstract Among Georg Philipp Telemann’s most-performed works is his setting of Psalm 117 (Psalm 116, Vulgate), Laudate Jehovam, TWV 7:25. There are three sources; Telemann’s autograph score (heavily marked and corrected by Telemann’s grandson, Georg Michael), a contemporary set of parts by a copyist, and another set of parts by Georg Michael Telemann based on his corrections to the autograph score. There are currently at least seven editions of this work readily available, none of which fully agrees with the autograph manuscript or original parts. The editions also differ substantially from one another: for example, two of them are in …

Oh, Eunmi, Schildkret, David, Evans, Bartlett, et al.
Created Date