Skip to main content

ASU Electronic Theses and Dissertations

This collection includes most of the ASU Theses and Dissertations from 2011 to present. ASU Theses and Dissertations are available in downloadable PDF format; however, a small percentage of items are under embargo. Information about the dissertations/theses includes degree information, committee members, an abstract, supporting data or media.

In addition to the electronic theses found in the ASU Digital Repository, ASU Theses and Dissertations can be found in the ASU Library Catalog.

Dissertations and Theses granted by Arizona State University are archived and made available through a joint effort of the ASU Graduate College and the ASU Libraries. For more information or questions about this collection contact or visit the Digital Repository ETD Library Guide or contact the ASU Graduate College at

Delirium is a piece for large wind ensemble that synthesizes compositional techniques to generate unique juxtapositions of contrasting musical elements. The piece is about 8:30 long and uses the full complement of winds, brass, and percussion. Although the composition begins tonally, chromatic alterations gradually shift the melodic content outside of the tonal center. In addition to changes in the melody, octatonic, chromatic, and synthetic scales and quartal and quintal harmonies are progressively introduced throughout the piece to add color and create dissonance. Delirium contains four primary sections that are all related by chromatic mediant. The subdivisions of the first part …

Bell, Jeremy Edward, Rogers, Rodney, Oldani, Robert, et al.
Created Date

Symphonic Movement: On Works of H. P. Lovecraft is a single movement composition for wind band lasting approximately 11 minutes. The instrumentation for the work is as follows: piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, English horn, 3 clarinets, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, 4 horns, 4 trumpets, 2 trombones, bass trombone, euphonium, tuba, string bass, timpani, 5 percussionists, and piano. Symphonic Movement: On Works of H. P. Lovecraft is inspired by the horror fiction writer H. P. Lovecraft. Lovecraft was famous for his ability to create a sense of creeping dread …

Lamb, Chris, Rogers, Rodney, DeMars, James, et al.
Created Date

Para Mi Alma is a composition for chamber wind ensemble comprised of an Introduction, two dance movements, and a concluding movement featuring the full ensemble in a chorale-like finale. This piece follows the narrative of an abusive relationship, and the emotional rollercoaster that one experiences during the self extrication and consequential rebirth of identity. Para Mi Alma (For My Soul) is scored for chamber wind ensemble with the following instrumentation: piccolo/flute, Bb clarinet, bass clarinet, bassoon; soprano, tenor, and baritone saxophone; trumpet, trumpet/flugelhorn, horn in F, tenor and bass trombone; double bass, and three percussionists - marimba/congas, auxiliary percussion (wind …

Vincent, Katelyn Rae, Rogers, Rodney, Knowles, Kristina, et al.
Created Date