Skip to main content

ASU Electronic Theses and Dissertations

This collection includes most of the ASU Theses and Dissertations from 2011 to present. ASU Theses and Dissertations are available in downloadable PDF format; however, a small percentage of items are under embargo. Information about the dissertations/theses includes degree information, committee members, an abstract, supporting data or media.

In addition to the electronic theses found in the ASU Digital Repository, ASU Theses and Dissertations can be found in the ASU Library Catalog.

Dissertations and Theses granted by Arizona State University are archived and made available through a joint effort of the ASU Graduate College and the ASU Libraries. For more information or questions about this collection contact or visit the Digital Repository ETD Library Guide or contact the ASU Graduate College at

This project uses fourteen transcriptions of Pete Fountain’s solos as examples to demonstrate traditional jazz clarinet techniques and language in terms of motives, patterns, and a variety of articulations. This project also includes guidelines on how to practice jazz improvisation as well as how to apply Fountain’s techniques and jazz language to one’s own improvisation. Though there are countless musicians who have made remarkable contributions to the development of the jazz language, Pete Fountain’s unique style is particularly worthy of study due to his massive media presence, effortless playing techniques, unique tone quality, and showmanship throughout his career. Dissertation/Thesis

Wu, Shengwen, Spring, Robert, Gardner, Joshua, et al.
Created Date

This project’s goal is to expand the repertoire for soprano saxophone featuring improvisation. Each work detailed in this document features improvisation as an integral component. The first piece, Impetus, was written by Grant Jahn for soprano saxophone and piano. The second piece, Sonata, was written for the same instrumentation by Brett Wery. Ethan Cypress wrote the third work for solo soprano saxophone, Noir et Bleu. The final composition on the project, Counterpunch by Gregory Wanamaker, was written for saxophone sextet. This paper also includes composer biographies, program notes, performance guides, and composer questionnaires. The central component of this project is …

Detweiler, Samuel, Creviston, Christopher, Kocour, Michael, et al.
Created Date