Skip to main content

Survey of Selected Contemporary Taiwanese Female Composers of Music for Solo Piano

Abstract The purpose of this project was to examine the lives and solo piano works of four members of the early generation of female composers in Taiwan. These four women were born between 1950 and 1960, began to appear on the Taiwanese musical scene after 1980, and were still active as composers at the time of this study. They include Fan-Ling Su (b. 1955), Hwei-Lee Chang (b. 1956), Shyh-Ji Pan-Chew (b. 1957), and Kwang-I Ying (b. 1960). Detailed biographical information on the four composers is presented and discussed. In addition, the musical form and features of all solo piano works at all levels by the four composers are analyzed, and the musical characteristics of each composer's work are discussed. The biography of a fifth composer, Wei-H... (more)
Created Date 2011
Contributor Wang, Lin-Yu (Author) / Pagano, Caio (Advisor) / Campbell, Andrew (Committee member) / Humphreys, Jere T. (Committee member) / Meyer-Thompson, Janice (Committee member) / Norton, Kay (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music / Fan-Ling Su / Hwei-Lee Chang / Kwang-I Ying / Shyh-Ji Pan-Chew / Taiwanese composers / Wei-Ho Dai
Type Doctoral Dissertation
Extent 350 pages
Language English
Reuse Permissions All Rights Reserved
Note D.M.A. Music 2011
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
19.1 MB application/pdf
Download Count: 2282

Description Dissertation/Thesis