Skip to main content

A Transcription of Four Viola Works by York Bowen for Clarinet and Piano

Abstract Works for clarinet in the twentieth century exist in abundance; furthermore, the number of extant works from the Classical period is substantial. However, works for solo clarinet in the late-Romantic style are lacking; most of the significant literature for clarinet is contained in orchestral works. Therefore, the purpose of this project is to add to the solo clarinet repertoire of the late Romantic-style through the transcription of works written originally for viola. The four works transcribed for this project are by York Bowen. Bowen was a British composer and pianist who taught at the Royal Academy of Music in England. Although his career flourished in the twentieth century, his music reflects the music of the late-Romantic style. The p... (more)
Created Date 2011
Contributor Deboer, Andrew Caleb (Author) / Spring, Robert S (Advisor) / Hill, Gary (Committee member) / Norton, Kay (Committee member) / Mcallister, Timothy (Committee member) / Stauffer, Sandra (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music / Performing arts / Fine arts / Bowen / Clarinet / Transcription / Viola / York
Type Doctoral Dissertation
Extent 181 pages
Language English
Reuse Permissions All Rights Reserved
Note D.M.A. Music 2011
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
1.7 MB application/pdf
Download Count: 2734

Description Dissertation/Thesis
  Sonata No. 1 in C minor, Op. 18 -. Allegro moderato
14.3 MB audio/mpeg
Download Count: 388

Description York Bowen
  Sonata No. 1 in C minor - Poco le. Poco lento e cantabile
10.0 MB audio/mpeg
Download Count: 142

Description York Bowen
  Sonata No. 1 in C minor - Finale. Finale - Presto
11.7 MB audio/mpeg
Download Count: 165

Description York Bowen
  Phantasy in F, Op. 54.
19.0 MB audio/mpeg
Download Count: 385

Description York Bowen
  Romance in D-flat 1.
8.1 MB audio/mpeg
Download Count: 147

Description York Bowen
  Sonata No. 2 in F Major, Op. 22 -. Allegro assai
14.1 MB audio/mpeg
Download Count: 159

Description York Bowen
  Sonata No. 2 in F Major, Op. 22 -. Grave
10.6 MB audio/mpeg
Download Count: 209

Description York Bowen
  Sonata No. 2 in F Major, Op. 22 -. Finale - Allegro giocoso
9.0 MB audio/mpeg
Download Count: 161

Description York Bowen