Skip to main content

Three Suites for Cello Opp. 72, 80, and 87 by Benjamin Britten Transcribed for Guitar

Abstract This project covers the transcription of Three Suites for Cello, opp. 72, 80, and 87, by Benjamin Britten, for guitar. These suites were chosen because of the influence of Bach, which is seen in the texture of the pieces, and because they can be played on guitar with very few changes. Music for unaccompanied cello has a history of being transcribed for guitar, including the Bach cello suites, and is a means for guitarists to expand the repertoire. In addition to documenting the changes made in adapting these pieces for guitar, a brief biographical sketch of the composer and descriptions of each movement are included. Also explained are articulation symbols and terminologies that are uncommon in music written for the guitar, and suggestions ... (more)
Created Date 2012
Contributor Higginbotham, Joseph Aaron (Author) / Koonce, Frank (Advisor) / Aspnes, Lynn (Committee member) / Jiang, Danwen (Committee member) / Mclin, Katie (Committee member) / Rogers, Rodney (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music / Britten / cello / guitar / suite / transcribed / transcription
Type Doctoral Dissertation
Extent 42 pages
Language English
Reuse Permissions All Rights Reserved
Note D.M.A. Music 2012
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
445.7 KB application/pdf
Download Count: 2306

Description Dissertation/Thesis