Skip to main content

Rapsodia Camaleónica: A Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and Orchestra

Abstract This DMA project (in piano performance) consists of a concerto composed for trumpet and piano duo with orchestra and an analytical document that accompanies it. The text portion of this paper discusses the different compositional aspects of Rapsodia Camaleónica, including instrumentation, form, influences and the performers' perspective. The work is scored for a medium-sized orchestra: 2 flutes (flute 2 double piccolo), 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, horn, trombone, bass trombone, 4 percussionists (timpani, snare drum, crash cymbals, suspended cymbal, castanets, güiro or carrasca, shekere, whip, xylophone, triangle, pandeiro, tam-tam, wood blocks, 2 congas, glockenspiel, 3 tom-toms, bass drum) and strings. It is written in one multi-... (more)
Created Date 2012
Contributor Arias-Esguerra, Mauricio (Author) / Meir, Baruch I (Advisor) / Demars, James (Committee member) / Hamilton, Robert (Committee member) / Pagano, Caio (Committee member) / Rogers, Rodney (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music / Colombia Colombian music Latin American music / concerto for trumpet concerto for piano / double concerto for trumpet / piano and orchestra / Duo concertante chameleon / Mauricio Arias / Rapsodia Rhapsody bambuco
Type Doctoral Dissertation
Extent 127 pages
Language English
Reuse Permissions All Rights Reserved
Note D.M.A. Music 2012
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
7.2 MB application/pdf
Download Count: 771

Description Dissertation/Thesis