Skip to main content

A Conductor's Guide to Myroslav Skoryk's Carpathian Concerto

Abstract This study presents a conductor's guide to the Carpathian Concerto by Myroslav Skoryk. As a Deputy Head of the National Composers Association of Ukraine, a professor at the Tchaikovsky National Academy of Music and the Music Artistic Director of the National Opera of Ukraine, Skoryk continues to be active as a composer, teacher, and conductor. The Carpathian Concerto was composed in 1972 and was inspired by the culture and folklore of the west region of Ukraine, the Carpathian Mountains. Over the years the Carpathian Concerto has become standard repertoire for many symphony orchestras in the Ukraine. The author, himself from the Ukraine, performed this work in 2002, as a member of the Tchaikovsky National Academy of Music Symphony Orche... (more)
Created Date 2012
Contributor Ivanov, Lev (Author) / Russell, Timothy (Advisor) / Hill, Gary (Committee member) / Oldani, Robert (Committee member) / Reber, William (Committee member) / Rogers, Rodney (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music / Carpathian Concerto / orchestra / Skoryk / Ukraine
Type Doctoral Dissertation
Extent 50 pages
Language English
Reuse Permissions All Rights Reserved
Note D.M.A. Music 2012
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
150.6 KB application/pdf
Download Count: 767

Description Dissertation/Thesis