Skip to main content

Hyakunin isshu karuta 百人一首 歌留多

Description Hand-drawn and written cards
Created Date 1780
Contributor Unknown (Author)
Language Japanese
Identifier Local: The Melikian Collection L2011.008.084
Reuse Permissions All Rights Reserved
Note Size: 1 7/8 x 2 5/8 in. each card
Note Hykunin isshu (100 Poems & 100 Poets) is a collection of 100 short poems, known as tanka. Tanka is a form of Japanese traditional poetry of just five lines with a total of 31 syllables grouped in lines of 5, 7 5, 7 and 7 syllables. The first three lines, composed of 17 syllables, are called kaminoku, and the final two lines, composed of 14 syllables, are called shimonoku. These groups of lines create a beautiful rhythm. During the latter half of the Heian period (late eighth to late 12th century), poetry writing to express the beauty of nature or feelings of love became extremely popular among the aristocracy. It was against this backdrop that the Hyakunin isshu anthology was compiled around 1235 as a collection of 100 poems from 100 po... (more)
Collaborating Institutions ASU Art Museum / School of Art / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

174.5 KB image/jpeg (829 x 576px)
Download Count: 276