Skip to main content

Preservation Symphony

Abstract Preservation Symphony is a short, multi-movement, orchestral composition that explores the versatility of the [016] pitch class set as the dominant unifying force of this cyclical work. The composition is scored for Piccolo, two Flutes, two Oboes, English Horn, two Clarinets, Bass Clarinet, full complement of Brass, Timpani, two Percussionists, and Strings. Movement one is in sonata form; the [016] set is used in structuring its overall formal scheme. The primary focus of the movement is on the tritone [0 6] as a replacement for the traditional tonic and dominant polarity. The movement features a driving force that alternates between pulse subdivisions of even sixteenth notes and sixteenth-note triplets. Movement two is in simple binary for... (more)
Created Date 2014
Contributor Kemp, Tyler (Author) / Rogers, Rodney (Advisor) / Demars, James (Committee member) / Rockmaker, Jody (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music / Composition / Orchestra / Preservation / Symphony
Type Masters Thesis
Extent 50 pages
Language English
Reuse Permissions All Rights Reserved
Note M.M. Composition 2014
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
2.1 MB application/pdf
Download Count: 733

Description Dissertation/Thesis