Skip to main content

Paul Schoenfeld and His Four Souvenirs for Violin and Piano (1990)

Abstract Four Souvenirs for Violin and Piano was composed by Paul Schoenfeld (b.1947) in 1990 as a showpiece, spotlighting the virtuosity of both the violin and piano in equal measure. Each movement is a modern interpretation of a folk or popular genre, re- envisioned over intricate jazz harmonies and rhythms. The work was commissioned by violinist Lev Polyakin, who specifically requested some short pieces that could be performed in a local jazz establishment named Night Town in Cleveland, Ohio. The result is a work that is approximately fifteen minutes in length. Schoenfeld is a respected composer in the contemporary classical music community, whose Café Music (1986) for piano trio has recently become a staple of the standard chamber music repertoi... (more)
Created Date 2015
Contributor Janczyk, Kristie Annette (Author) / Ryan, Russell (Advisor) / Campbell, Andrew (Committee member) / Norton, Kay (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music / composer / composition / Four Souvenirs / Paul Schoenfeld / Piano / Violin
Type Doctoral Dissertation
Extent 128 pages
Language English
Reuse Permissions All Rights Reserved
Note Doctoral Dissertation Music 2015
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
23.9 MB application/pdf
Download Count: 3850

Description Dissertation/Thesis