Skip to main content

Symphonic Movement: On Works of H. P. Lovecraft

Abstract Symphonic Movement: On Works of H. P. Lovecraft is a single movement

composition for wind band lasting approximately 11 minutes. The instrumentation

for the work is as follows: piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, English horn, 3 clarinets, bass

clarinet, contrabass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, soprano saxophone, alto

saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, 4 horns, 4 trumpets, 2 trombones,

bass trombone, euphonium, tuba, string bass, timpani, 5 percussionists, and piano.

Symphonic Movement: On Works of H. P. Lovecraft is inspired by the horror

fiction writer H. P. Lovecraft. Lovecraft was famous for his ability to create a sense

of creeping dread and terror in his stories. The composition evokes this dark

atmosphere and use... (more)
Created Date 2016
Contributor Lamb, Chris (Author) / Rogers, Rodney (Advisor) / DeMars, James (Committee member) / Hill, Gary (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music / Band / Concert Band / Lovecraft / Wind Ensemble
Type Doctoral Dissertation
Extent 58 pages
Language English
Reuse Permissions All Rights Reserved
Note Doctoral Dissertation Music 2016
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
2.8 MB application/pdf
Download Count: 503

Description Dissertation/Thesis