Skip to main content

Bruegel (A Composition in Four Movements)

Abstract Bruegel is a four movement composition inspired by the paintings and engravings of Flemish artist Pieter Bruegel the Elder (1525-1569). It is scored for Bass Clarinet in Bb, Electric Guitar, One Percussionist (Glockenspiel, Woodblock, Snare, Kick Drum, and Brake Drums), Piano and String Quartet. Each movement explores a painting or engraving from Bruegel’s catalog of works and attempts to embody each piece of art through the use of certain compositional techniques.

The Cripples (Movement I) explores layered rhythms and disjunct melodic fragments which play on the idea of Bruegel’s painting of crippled men trampling over each other and stumbling. Small moments of balance are found throughout only to be lost. Patience (Movement II) is based ... (more)
Created Date 2016
Contributor Villalta, Kevin Anthony (Author) / Rogers, Rodney (Advisor) / Rockmaker, Jody (Committee member) / Suzuki, Kotoka (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music / Art history / Performing arts / Chamber Ensemble / Composer / Electric Guitar / Flemish Painting / New Music / Pieter Bruegel
Type Masters Thesis
Extent 44 pages
Language English
Reuse Permissions All Rights Reserved
Note Masters Thesis Music 2016
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
3.9 MB application/pdf
Download Count: 356

Description Dissertation/Thesis