Skip to main content

“by my death...” for Chamber Ensemble and Laptop Ensemble

Abstract “by my death...” is a composition in three movements for chamber ensemble and

laptop ensemble, with the instrumentation of clarinet in Bb, French horn in F, percussion, violin, double bass, and at least three laptops. The total duration of the piece is approximately twenty minutes. However, since the timing of the first and third movement is flexible, the total duration may vary.

“by my death...” is the creative culmination of my research into representations of

the Holocaust in music. More specifically, it corresponds to my analysis of three

Holocaust-based works by the Israeli composer Arie Shapira (1943-2015): Gideon Kleins Marterstrasse (1977), Gustl in Theresienstadt (1998-9), and Achtung Rapunzel (2007). I applied findings from th... (more)
Created Date 2016
Contributor Dori, Gil (Author) / Suzuki, Kotoka (Advisor) / Feisst, Sabine (Committee member) / Paine, Garth (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music / Judaic studies / Holocaust studies / Chamber / Electroacoustic / Holocaust / Kolchinsky-Dasbach / Laptop / Shapira
Type Doctoral Dissertation
Extent 43 pages
Language English
Reuse Permissions All Rights Reserved
Note Doctoral Dissertation Music 2016
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
15.2 MB application/pdf
Download Count: 774

Description Dissertation/Thesis
  by my death All
40.5 MB application/zip
Download Count: 23

Description MAX/MSP Patches