Skip to main content

Solving the Riddle of Alkan's Grande Sonate Op. 33 ‘Les quatre âges’: A Performance Guide and Programmatic Overview

Abstract Charles-Valentin Alkan’s Grande Sonate Op. 33 ‘Les quatre âges’ is a unique four-movement work for piano solo that programmatically represents a man’s life through four decades, passing from age 20 to 50, with each movement being progressively slower than the previous. Published in 1847, it was destined for obscurity until it was rediscovered and premiered in 1973 by English pianist Ronald Smith. Its absence from the public’s reach can be attributed to multiple reasons including the reclusive nature of the composer during the time of composition and the societal issues surrounding the French Revolution of 1848.

Much of Alkan’s music has a reputation for being nearly unplayable because of its complexity and the extremely high level of tec... (more)
Created Date 2018
Contributor Hillmann, Joshua Lester (Author) / Meir, Baruch (Advisor) / Pagano, Caio (Committee member) / Hamilton, Robert (Committee member) / Rockmaker, Jody (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music / Charles-Valentin Alkan / Grande Sonate Op. 33 / Performance Guide / Program Music / Quasi-Faust / Sonata
Type Doctoral Dissertation
Extent 121 pages
Language English
Reuse Permissions All Rights Reserved
Note Doctoral Dissertation Music 2018
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
24.5 MB application/pdf
Download Count: 17015

Description Dissertation/Thesis