Skip to main content

Light Emerging: A Symphonic Dance Suite for Chamber Orchestra and Electronics

Abstract Light Emerging is a symphonic dance suite in five movements. The work’s approximate length is 25 minutes; it is scored for flute, oboe, clarinet in Bb, bassoon, horn in F, trumpet in C with loop pedal, trombone, percussion, electronic percussion, piano, strings, and fixed media. Each movement of the dance suite is written to be performed as a standalone piece or together as one multimovement work. The music showcases open quintal sonorities layered in conflicting substructures, which contract into denser brooding passages and transform into tonal fanfares.

Attempting to capture the essence of how humanity uniquely experiences light and assigns personification to it, the composer presents light and dark as the main characters in a grand bal... (more)
Created Date 2019
Contributor Johnson, Brice (Author) / Rogers, Rodney (Advisor) / Rockmaker, Jody (Committee member) / Suzuki, Kotoka (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Musical composition / Ballet / Composition / Dance / Electronics / Music / Orchestra
Type Doctoral Dissertation
Extent 76 pages
Language English
Note Doctoral Dissertation Music 2019
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
4.8 MB application/pdf
Download Count: 38

Description Dissertation/Thesis