Skip to main content

A Performance Guide to Yuko Uébayashi’s Misericordia for Flute and String Quartet

Abstract Yuko Uébayashi is a composer who was born in Japan and presently resides in France. She composed Misericordia for Flute and String Quartet for Carol Wincenc in 2013. The National Flute Association (NFA), the most active flute society in America, hosted the Misericordia performance during its annual convention in Chicago in 2014. Uébayashi’s flute works have not only been frequently performed at NFA conventions, but also at other well-known flute festivals since 2006, the year of her U.S. debut. Many current flutists are motivated to learn and play her compositions; however, there is little published literature about her works. Understanding her unique compositional style and obtaining a better knowledge of her music and compositional practi... (more)
Created Date 2019
Contributor Ham, Na Young (Author) / Buck, Elizabeth (Advisor) / Campbell, Andrew (Committee member) / Feisst, Sabine (Committee member) / Spring, Robert (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music / Misericordia / Yuko Uébayashi
Type Doctoral Dissertation
Extent 90 pages
Language English
Note Doctoral Dissertation Music 2019
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
7.6 MB application/pdf
Download Count: 322

Description Dissertation/Thesis