Skip to main content

Comparison of the Original Operetta Arizona Lady, by Emmerich Kálmán, with its 2015 Adaptation Performed by Arizona Opera

Abstract Emmerich Kálmán (1882-1953) was a leading composer during the Silver Age of Viennese operetta. His final work, Arizona Lady (1954), premiered posthumously, on Bavarian Radio, January 1, 1954. The stage premiere followed on February 14, 1954, at the Stadttheater in Bern, Switzerland. It is his only operetta that is set entirely in the United States, in Tucson, Arizona. Arizona Opera commissioned and produced a new adaptation of Arizona Lady, which was performed in October 2015, in both Tucson, Arizona, and Phoenix, Arizona. The libretto was heavily revised, as well as translated, primarily into English with some sections in Spanish and German.

Through comparison of the original and adaptation, this study examines the artistic decisions reg... (more)
Created Date 2019
Contributor Leyva, Elizabeth (Author) / Holbrook, Amy K (Advisor) / Dreyfoos, Dale (Committee member) / Elgar Kopta, Anne (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music / Theater history / Arizona Lady / Arizona Opera / Kálmán / Emmerich / Kelly / Kathleen / operetta / operetta adaptation
Type Doctoral Dissertation
Extent 107 pages
Language English
Note Doctoral Dissertation Performance 2019
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
643.0 KB application/pdf
Download Count: 10

Description Dissertation/Thesis