Skip to main content

Vaclav Nelhybel: An Introduction to His Works for Trombone Solo and Trombone Ensemble

Abstract Vaclav Nelhybel (1919-1996) composed over 600 works, a significant number of which were never published. The trombone is included in more than 200 of Nelhybel’s compositions, some featuring the instrument in a solo role and also as a key contributor in many of his chamber and large ensemble works. The goal of this project is to bring this significant body of trombone literature into the light by examining his seventeen compositions that feature the trombone in solos and trombone ensembles; this paper also includes a select listing of other works by Nelhybel that include the trombone. The seventeen highlighted pieces include nine works for solo trombone and eight for trombone ensemble. This paper also contains background information on the c... (more)
Created Date 2019
Contributor Haas, Garrett (Author) / Yeo, Douglas (Advisor) / Ericson, John (Committee member) / Holbrook, Amy (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music / Bass Trombone / Concerto / Haas / Nelhybel / Trombone
Type Doctoral Dissertation
Extent 103 pages
Language English
Note Doctoral Dissertation Music 2019
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
22.7 MB application/pdf
Download Count: 6

Description Dissertation/Thesis