Skip to main content

Vincenzo Galilei’s “26 Ricercari” from Fronimo, Transcribed for Guitar: Challenges and Solutions for Transcribing and Playing Italian Renaissance Lute Tablature on the Modern Guitar

Abstract In 1568, Vincenzo Galilei published the first edition of Fronimo as a guide to the art of intabulating vocal music for the lute. A second edition was released in 1584 in which Galilei presents “26 Ricercari” to demonstrate the sound of each Glarean mode. These short works provide a methodical approach to experiencing the Renaissance modes through his beautiful writing for the lute.

This research project focuses on the “26 Ricercari” and explores the challenges of transcribing and arranging Renaissance lute tablatures to be played on the guitar. Topics such as making decisions for voicings, fingerings, tactus reductions, and formatting are examined. Historically-informed playing suggestions such as articulations, lute techniques, and tempo ... (more)
Created Date 2020
Contributor Oeth, John (Author) / Koonce, Frank (Advisor) / Feisst, Sabine (Committee member) / McLin, Katherine (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music / Music history / Performing arts / classical guitar / Fronimo / guitar transcription / lute tablature / Renaissance / Vincenzo Galilei
Type Doctoral Dissertation
Extent 110 pages
Language English
Note Doctoral Dissertation Music 2020
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
12.5 MB application/pdf
Download Count: 14

Description Dissertation/Thesis
  Fronimo - John
317.0 MB application/zip
Download Count: 0

Description "26 Ricercari" by Vincenzo Galilei, arranged and performed by John Oeth