Skip to main content

Stefania Turkevych's Heart of Oksana (1969): A Critical Edition of a Lost Ukrainian Opera

Abstract It is no secret that the Soviet Union silenced the voices of many artists, but pieces of this history are still emerging—including the story of Ukraine's first female composer to achieve professional renown: Stefania Turkevych (1898-1977). Although the quantity and quality of Turkevych's compositional output should have established her as a major international figure, most of her work remains unpublished. Turkevych is absent from both Grove Music and Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG Online). There is a clear need for English-language biographical materials about Turkevych and for publication of her works.

This document represents the first critical edition of Turkevych’s three-act chamber opera, Серце Оксани (The Heart of... (more)
Created Date 2020
Contributor Glenn, Erica (Author) / Schildkret, David (Advisor) / Norton, Kay (Committee member) / DeMaris, Brian (Committee member) / Arizona State University (Publisher)
Subject Music history / Musical composition / Slavic studies / composer / female / opera / Stefania / Turkevych / Ukraine
Type Doctoral Dissertation
Extent 163 pages
Language English
Note Doctoral Dissertation Music 2020
Collaborating Institutions Graduate College / ASU Library
Additional Formats MODS / OAI Dublin Core / RIS

  Full Text
13.4 MB application/pdf
Download Count: 44

Description Dissertation/Thesis